User Tools

Site Tools


fr:doc:hardware:soc

SoC (System on a Chip - système sur une puce)

Faire fonctionner le noyau GNU/Linux sur la plus grande quantité de composant matériel possible est un perpétuel défi. Une partie de ce travail se retrouve au sain de projet tel qu'OpenWrt, mais aussi au sein des entreprises qui développement, construisent ou vendent ces matériels spécifique. Grace a ce travail continue, ces nouvelles compatibilités sont étendu à autant de matériel que possible afin de devenir indispensable au noyau GNU/Linux et finissent par en faire complètement partie.

Bien qu'aujourd'hui nous considérons les fonctionnalités sans fil (Wifi, Bluetooth, …) comme faisant indispensable, et nous entourant, au début de ces technologies, c'était une vrai plaie. Au début du standard IEEE 802.11, l'étendu des possibilités excitait tout le monde. MAIS la disponibilité des pilotes pour le noyau GNU/Linux était très pauvre, si bien qu'une grande majorité des fonctionnalités étaient tout simplement inexistante. C'est toujours le cas pour certain matériel sans fil vendu dans le commerce. Peut importe sa puissance et sa beauté, les pilotes GNU/Linux n'offre pas plus.

Depuis sa création, OpenWrt est principalement développé pour les matériels CPE, tel que les routeurs ou les NAS, et une part importante du temps s'est concentré sur le support de la norme IEEE 802.11 en tant que possible extension. Sachant cela, le premier matériel supporté (Linksys WRT54G) a été vendu plus de 400 000 fois au cours du premier mois. C'est encourageant de voir que le travail abattu par le projet OpenWrt a eu un impact plus que positif.

Entreprises

La plus part des fabricant de SoC mettent sous licence propriétaire le noyau IP (matériel et/ou logicielle). Pour certain le design du CPU issue d'une base tel que MIPS ou ARM qu'ils associent avec un noyau IP (auto-développé ou en payant une licence propriétaire) (matériel et/ou logicielle) pour le DSP, le sans-fil, le VoIP, le son, les switch, et plein d'autres fonctionnalités et passent commande pour ces puces à des fondeur de semi-conducteur. Ces puces, SoC, sont ensuite achetés par différents fabricant de routeur. De ce fait, le dernier design de PCB, pour n'importe quelle solution, propose donc ces nouvelles puces (Soc, RAM, Flash) soudé dessus.

Company CPU IP for Mixed-signal integrated circuit
Intruction set license for own IP wired optical wireless
MIPS ARM Power Architecture other Ethernet DSL DOCSIS ? 802.11 WiMAX LTE
Broadcom MIPS32, MIPS64 ARMv6, ARMv7, ARMv8
Marvell (Intel) ARMv5 (XScale, Sheeva), ARMv6, ARMv7
Qualcomm (Atheros, ZyDAS) MIPS32 ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7 Ubicom32, Ubicom64
MediaTek (Ralink) MIPS32 ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7
Lantiq (Infineon, Texas Instruments) MIPS32
Samsung ARMv4, ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7
Texas Instuments ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7 TMS320
Ikanos (Conexant, Analog Devices) MIPS32, Lexra ARMv5, ARMv6
Realtek Lexra, MIPS32
Intel (Digital Equipment Corporation) (Texas Instruments) ARMv4 (StrongARM), ARMv5 (XScale), ARMv6 x86, x86-64, IA-64
AMD MIPS32, MIPS64 ARMv8? x86, x86-64
Apple ARMv7
Cavium Networks MIPS32, MIPS64 ARMv4
Vitesse Semiconductor
Applied Micro Circuits Corporation ARMv8
Maxim Integrated
Freescale Semiconductor ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7 Motorola 68000
Allwinner Technology ARMv5, ARMv7
Renesas Electronics MIPS64 ARMv7 SuperH ,M32R
Sony MIPS?
Toshiba MIPS?

Exemples de produit avec des SoC exotiques

Support GNU/Linux

Maintenant que nous avons découvert ces entreprise qui détiennent les licences des semi-conducteurs IP, regardons la disponibilité du support de ces produits dans les grandes lignes du noyau GNU/Linux ou dans le noyau GNU/Linux d'OpenWrt. Nous ne nous soucierons pas de ce qu'il se passe dans le noyau GNU/Linux d'Android ou d'autre noyau GNU/Linux sauvagement modifié (ou plus mis à jour).

TODO

For mainlined Linux kernel-drivers for the

Platformes

Chaque platforme différente d'OprnWrt représente une disposition particulière de matériel qui se partagent des fonctionnalités communes, comme faire partie de la famille d'un SoC. Le design de ce SoC dépendant de l'entreprise qui a conçu ce semi-conducteur, une famille de SoC peut être entièrement dépendant de blocs IP qui sont correctement supporté, peut être déjà dans les grandes lignes du noyau. Mais il peut aussi contenir des blocs IP nouveau et dont les fonctionnalités sont pauvre et qui ne seront jamais entièrement supporté dans le noyau GNU/Linux. Ou contenant des blocs IP complètement supporté dans le noyau GNU/Linux.

Qualcomm Atheros

ar5xxx

Qualcomm Atheros AR5xxx boards (Atheros brand)

ar71xx

Qualcomm Atheros AR7xxx, AR9xxx and QCA9xxx boards

Lantiq / Infineon

adm5120

Infineon/ADMtek ADM5120

adm8668

Infineon WildPass ADM8668

Lantiq

XWAY, XRX200 SoCs with ADSL2+ and VDLS2 support in OpenWrt.

ramips

Ralink rt288x/rt305x/rt3883 Wireless Single Chip AP/Router SoCs

Broadcom

brcm47xx

Broadcom 47xx boards

bcm63xx

Broadcom 6338/6345/6348/6358/6361/6362/6368/6816 SoC. Working with no driver for the on-board DSL/VoIP on 6338/6348/6358

bcm33xx

Still no support for these SoCs.

brcm2708 (= Raspberry Pi)

  • OpenWrt support is WIP
  • no, there are NO FOSS Linux drivers for the GPU. There is merely an open source wrapper for the closed source GPU driver

bcm53xx

ARM-based bcm53xx and ARM-based bcm47xx SoCs:

Ikanos

Conexant/Ikanos Solos-W

Boards based on the CX94610 SoCs.

Marvell

orion

Marvell MV88F518x/MV88F528x

kirkwood

Marvell MV88F61xx/MV88F62xx

mvebu

Marvell Armada XP/370

Moschip

mcs814x

Only 2 known devices (supported). Devolo dLAN USB Extender

Freescale

mpc52xx

Freescale MPC52xx

mpc83xx

Freescale MPC83xx

mpc85xx

Freescale MPC8xx

imx21

imx23

Freescale i.MX23 series

imx6

Freescale i.MX6 series

Oxford / PLXTECH / Avago

oxnas

Oxford Semi OX82x / PLXTECH NAS782x

fr/doc/hardware/soc.txt · Last modified: 2015/12/14 22:55 by tmomas

User Tools

Site Tools


SoC (System on a Chip)

There is the perpetual endeavor of making the Linux kernel work on possibly any piece of hardware available. A part of this work takes place inside of projects like OpenWrt, but also inside of the companies that design, manufacture or vend the hardware respectively products based upon it. More or less of this work sooner or later ends gets mainlined, i.e. the code becomes part of the mainline Linux kernel.

Whereas of today we take it for granted to have wireless functionality as a convenience everywhere around us, in the beginning, it was a royal PITA. The IEEE 802.11 family of standards fired the imagination of what could be realized with it, BUT the available drivers for the Linux kernel were poorly written, lacked features or were non-existent. This is actually still true for some of the wireless hardware sold on the market. No matter how fantastic or potent it may be, its Linux drivers don't offer much.

From its foundation on OpenWrt has been focusing on CPE hardware such as routers or NAS, and much dedication was invested to support IEEE 802.11 as extensively as possible. Given that the initial hardware, the Linksys WRT54G, was sold about 400,000 times in the first months, it is safe to assume that the work done by the OpenWrt project had an impact.


Most SoC manufacturers license a (soft or hard) IP core for a certain CPU design from a licensor like MIPS or ARM, then combine this with other (self-developed or licensed) (soft or hard) IP cores for DSP-, wireless-, VoIP-, Sound-, Switch-, etc-functionality and commission the manufacturing of Chips at some semiconductor foundry. These Chips, SoCs, are acquired by different manufacturers of Routers. The latter design PCBs for whatever purpose and solder the purchased chips (SoC, RAM, Flash) onto them.

Company CPU IP for Mixed-signal integrated circuit
Intruction set license for own IP wired optical wireless
MIPS ARM Power Architecture other Ethernet DSL DOCSIS ? 802.11 WiMAX LTE
Broadcom MIPS32, MIPS64 ARMv6, ARMv7, ARMv8
Marvell (Intel) ARMv5 (XScale, Sheeva), ARMv6, ARMv7
Qualcomm (Atheros, ZyDAS) MIPS32 ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7 Ubicom32, Ubicom64
MediaTek (Ralink) MIPS32 ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7
Lantiq (Infineon, Texas Instruments) MIPS32
Samsung ARMv4, ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7
Texas Instuments ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7 TMS320
Ikanos (Conexant, Analog Devices) MIPS32, Lexra ARMv5, ARMv6
Realtek Lexra, MIPS32
Intel (Digital Equipment Corporation) (Texas Instruments) ARMv4 (StrongARM), ARMv5 (XScale), ARMv6 x86, x86-64, IA-64
AMD MIPS32, MIPS64 ARMv8? x86, x86-64
Apple ARMv7
Cavium Networks MIPS32, MIPS64 ARMv4
Vitesse Semiconductor
Applied Micro Circuits Corporation ARMv8
Maxim Integrated
Freescale Semiconductor ARMv5, ARMv6, ARMv7 Motorola 68000
Allwinner Technology ARMv5, ARMv7
Renesas Electronics MIPS64 ARMv7 SuperH ,M32R
Sony MIPS?
Toshiba MIPS?

Examples of devices with an exotic SoC

Linux support

Now that we have an overview over the companies that own/license semiconductor IP, let's have a look of the available support of their products in the mainline Linux kernel or in the OpenWrt Linux kernel. We don't much care about the Android Linux kernel or about heavily modified (and outdated) Linux kernels.


For mainlined Linux kernel-drivers for the


Each different OpenWrt platform represents a set of hardware that share certain common features, such as being part of the same family of SoCs. Depending on the semiconductor company that designs the SoC, a SoC-family can consist entirely of IP blocks that are all well-supported, maybe already mainlined. But it can also contain IP blocks, for that only raggedly written, feature-poor code exists, that would never be mainlined. Or IP blocks that are completely unsupported by the Linux kernel.

Qualcomm Atheros


Qualcomm Atheros AR5xxx boards (Atheros brand)


Qualcomm Atheros AR7xxx, AR9xxx and QCA9xxx boards

Lantiq / Infineon


Infineon/ADMtek ADM5120


Infineon WildPass ADM8668


XWAY, XRX200 SoCs with ADSL2+ and VDLS2 support in OpenWrt.


Ralink rt288x/rt305x/rt3883 Wireless Single Chip AP/Router SoCs



Broadcom 47xx boards


Broadcom 6338/6345/6348/6358/6361/6362/6368/6816 SoC. Working with no driver for the on-board DSL/VoIP on 6338/6348/6358


Still no support for these SoCs.

brcm2708 (= Raspberry Pi)

  • OpenWrt support is WIP
  • no, there are NO FOSS Linux drivers for the GPU. There is merely an open source wrapper for the closed source GPU driver


ARM-based bcm53xx and ARM-based bcm47xx SoCs:


Conexant/Ikanos Solos-W



Marvell MV88F518x/MV88F528x


Marvell MV88F61xx/MV88F62xx


Marvell Armada XP/370



Only 2 known devices (supported). Devolo dLAN USB Extender



Freescale MPC52xx


Freescale MPC83xx


Freescale MPC8xx



Freescale i.MX23 series


Freescale i.MX6 series

Oxford / PLXTECH / Avago


Oxford Semi OX82x / PLXTECH NAS782x

doc/hardware/soc.txt · Last modified: 2015/08/14 19:07 by tmomas